Latest News

Back to News




At this time, when so many of our young people are receiving the sacraments, it is a good opportunity to revise what the sacraments are and what they actually mean. There are seven sacraments in the Catholic Church: Baptism, Confession, Holy Communion, Confirmation, Matrimony, Holy Orders and the Anointing of the Sick. They touch all the important moments of a person’s life from when we are born through to when we leave this world - from the ‘cradle to the grave.’ Sacraments are sacred actions of the Church involving God and his people through which the presence of Jesus Christ can be experienced in a unique way. Theologians often describe them as channels of God’s grace. In the pages of the Bible, we read that God is continually inviting us to enter into a close personal relationship with Him. Jesus invites us to share his life, to get to know him and to love him. “I have come that they may have life and have it to the full”. Jesus also told us that he is with us always, even unto the end of time. The sacraments are one of the ways that God remains with us today. Holy Communion is the real jewel in the crown of the Catholic faith. Our faith is based on the belief that Jesus Christ becomes whole and entire in the signs of bread and wine. The God who created the universe and died on the cross comes to us in the form of bread and wine. At Confirmation, the gift of the Holy Spirit is confirmed (strengthened) upon the candidate just as the Apostles received the Holy Spirit at Pentecost (Acts 2). 


17th Jul 2017

This Wednesday will mark the end of the academic year for the staff and pupils at Saint Bede’s, g...


10th Jul 2017

As we draw nearer to the end of term, we seem to have more and more exciting events. Life is ever s...


27th Jun 2017

At this time, when so many of our young people are receiving the sacraments, it is a good opportuni...


26th Jun 2017

Welcome back again. I hope the half term has found you suitably refreshed for the second half of th...